How to Live Abroad

The Thames at Dusk

From September 2018 to January 2020, I had the fortune of living in the gorgeous city of London in the United Kingdom while attending City, University of London for my Master’s in Creative Writing and Publishing. Moving to London was the best decision of my life. It was a huge risk with a lot of unknowns, but it was also a dream come true. I can’t quite describe the feeling, but it just felt right. The moment I stepped out of the taxi and onto the streets of London, I knew I was home. When I travel, I suffer from a lot of anxiety but for whatever reason, I never felt that during my year and a half stay in London. This truly felt like home.

I learned so much during my time abroad, some of which I wish I had known earlier in my journey. There’s very little I would change about my experience but there are some things I wish I had done a little differently. If there’s one thing I can say to those considering living abroad for whatever reason: Do it. It’s the most incredible, eye-opening experience one could ever have. And I hope these tips can make the journey a little easier.

Pack Smart

Moving to a new city can be hectic and expensive, especially when you’re travelling to a new country, and packing is the last thing you want to worry about. Being smart about what you pack can save you a lot of hassle and money. Consider what you can purchase in your new home and leave those items behind. There are many places where you can get the basics for cheap, and you’ll have more precious suitcase space. You can always upgrade your housewares as you settle in.

Try to be a minimalist when it comes to clothes. They take up way more room than you realize, even with the rolling method. The wardrobe space was also considerably smaller than I was used to so I couldn’t bring too much anyway. Moving from Texas to a chilly place like London, I didn’t have to worry about packing coats and it was incredibly easy to add that to my wardrobe when I was there.

I did have to leave behind several things in order to bring home the neat stuff I found in Europe so be conscious of what you are packing. Do learn from my mistake: don’t hoard books. You won’t be able to get them all under the weight limit.

Only pack the essentials

Find Your New Living Space

Accommodation is difficult, no matter where you are moving to. From the price of rent to the limited options to that one roommate who makes you want to pull your hair out, it can be incredibly stressful finding and settling into your new home. Usually, you will find student accommodation through your university, but even this can come with a lot of headaches.

One of the struggles I faced with my student accommodation was rent payment. The second payment date was due about a week before my university disbursed my financial aid for the term so many of us were scrambling to find the money to pay a pretty substantial rent. So always be conscious of rent payments and financial aid disbursements so you’re not stuck in a similar situation.

And then there’s the question: “What do I do next?” My student accommodation ended the last day of term at my university, yet I didn’t graduate for another 5 months, and my student visa allowed me to remain in the country for those additional months. I made the choice to remain but that meant going through the arduous task of finding a new flat. It didn’t help that this was my first experience finding a place to live on my own, so I learned a whole lot.

The first thing to remember is finding something within your budget. Make sure to be reasonable in what you are willing to pay each month, keeping in mind fluctuating conversion rates if you are using a foreign bank account. This can be the most limiting thing. Most often you’ll find yourself living outside the main city area with as many roommates as legally (or illegally) as possible. With rents at an all-time high, be prepared to make some compromises.

It would be a dream to have the perfect roommates but what do you do when you live with two guys who refuse to clean the shared bathroom? Or the guy who lets the grease pile up in the oven until it’s near unusable? Or the roommate who cleans like corona is lurking on every surface? Communicate. Communication is the best way to avoid the rotten roommate situation. Make it clear your expectations but be reasonable. And always consider that there may be a reason your roommate isn’t the cleanest person. Try to compromise with one another and set up a system to keep everyone accountable for the flat. And if that fails, maybe it’s time to find a new roommate.

Go Explore

Take time to explore your new home. Go out and find those little nooks and crannies that the guidebooks don’t mention. If you move to a high tourism city, avoid the tourist sites at first. They can be overwhelming and rarely represent your new city. In London, find that local pub that fits your vibe. In Paris, find that picnic spot with the best views. Get to know the people that live in the city, not the sightseers, and you’ll find yourself settling in with a lot more ease.

St. James’s Park

Find that One Spot

While out exploring, make your new home feel like home by finding that one spot. This spot is where you find comfort and security. It’s where you go to feel happy, even when the homesickness sets in, and it reminds you why you decided to move to your new city. It can be a certain cafe, a restaurant, a park, anywhere that you want it to be.

For me, that place was The Globe in London. When I was feeling lonely and the anxiety would roll in, I would visit The Globe to bring me a sense of comfort. Whether it was attending a play or spending a few hours at the Starbucks next door, or just taking a walk by the Thames, I found myself visiting this place quite often during my time in London. When July 4th came around, I had a sudden bout of homesickness. I was never one for the Fourth of July festivities but all of a sudden, I wanted to go home. Instead, I bought three tickets and watched the Henry plays over a span of two days. This reassured me that I made the right decision, and I was in the city I love, and it was home. I was able to feel at peace and I even managed to get my favorite picture of London that night to always remember those days.

Shakespeare’s Globe

Adapt to the Culture. But Don’t Lose Yourself.

Thanksgiving is the one big holiday not celebrated in the UK. This obviously caused some homesickness among the US exchange students, as well as some complaints that the holiday was not recognized. It’s important to keep in mind that you are living in another culture that will not always cater to you. That’s not to say that you have to give up the traditions and customs from your home country when you move to a new one.

My friends all chipped in with various bits of food and treats the night before Thanksgiving and we celebrated a ‘Friendsgiving’ so that we Americans could feel a little bit of home. This potluck of random food captured the feeling of Thanksgiving, where we gathered with loved ones, remembering to give thanks for what we have. We didn’t need a stuffed turkey with gravy and cranberries; the Tesco cake and ice cream was more than enough.

At Christmas, us publishing nerds decided to have a book exchange for our Christmas party. Once again, everyone brought an assortment of delicious food, including Panettone which I’ve made a staple of my Christmas dinner. We continued this tradition the following year and I’m sure if we had all remained in London, we would be doing it yet again. It’s a lovely combination of tradition and new ideas.

In time, you’ll find ways to adapt without giving up who you are and the traditions you grew up with.

Christmas Book Exchange

Make New Friends

Making new friends is perhaps the hardest thing to do in any situation for most people, let alone when moving abroad. When you are studying abroad, it’s a bit easier to find others with the same interests which can create that special bond. Cities like London are a true melting pot, and I was lucky to make friends from Italy, Portugal, Australia, all over the UK, and even from the US.

As a shy person, making friends feels impossible. The best advice I can give is to be open to people. Allow yourself to connect with someone over any shared interests. You may not form a strong bond with everyone, but when you do, you may just find a few life-long friends.

Learn How to Find Your Way Around

Figuring out transportation is essential to your new life abroad. Even if you plan to drive, learning the different modes of public transportation can be useful. One of the most common modes is the metro, or the underground, system. This can be the most confusing one at first. The map just looks like a jumbled mess of lines. How is one ever to navigate this?

It’s actually easier than you think. Each metro line is color coded and/or named. The simplest way to navigate the metro is to find they station you are in and the station you want to end up at. Then follow the lines to where they intersect. Sometimes, you will have to go through multiple lines to get to your destination and it can be tricky making sure you are going the right way but following the signs and paying attention to your surroundings will make it much less of a headache.

The famous red bus of London

Get to Work

Finding a job abroad can be tricky. Employment visas vary from country to country so it depends on where you are moving to what requirements and restrictions you will need to be aware of. As a student with a visa, my working hours were restricted to a certain number. When I graduated, my eligibility for employment depended on my employer agreeing to sponsor me.

Working was one of the few things I did not experience during my year-and-a-half abroad as I chose to spend my free time traveling. I do wish I had gone for the many internships presented to me through my university so as to have more knowledge of the career field my degree is in, but I don’t regret all the amazing things I got to see and do while abroad. Take this as a word of caution: balance your time in university. Traveling can give you endless life lessons you will never learn in an office, but sometimes, you do need that office to prepare you for life beyond university.

Conclusion

Living abroad is one of the greatest experiences one can ever have. Even with the stress that comes along with it, I can’t recommend it enough. Seeing the world beyond what you’ve known your entire life provides an experience unmatched by anything else. Wherever you find yourself living, I hope these little tips will help you settle into your new home.

Lufthansa Flight to Frankfurt

Leave a comment