The Somewhat Peculiar Bucket List #2: Have Afternoon Tea in London

When someone asks, “What is the most British thing you can think of?”, what’s the first thing that comes to mind? Living in London for a year and a half, I discovered many Britishisms. Grabbing a pint as early as your noontime meal, apologizing as you’re squeezing past strangers to get off the bus at your stop before the doors close, meeting up with your mates for a cheeky Nando’s (don’t forget the perinaise). But there is one thing so quintessentially British, something every visit to London should entail: proper afternoon tea.

Before my big move to London, my aunt took me to the Rose Tea Cottage in Pasadena, California to learn all the proper tea manners – always put the clotted cream on your scone before the jam. I purchased my own fascinator hat to feel like a real British lady and had a wonderful time preparing for the real thing.

The Rose Tea Cottage in Pasadena, California

I knew that the moment I got accepted in uni, I had to get a real British afternoon tea. Luckily, I didn’t have to wait too long. Barely two weeks into my life abroad, I joined my new friends for afternoon tea at the Swan Restaurant, right next to the Globe Theatre.

This was by far the best place to have my first experience of afternoon tea in London. The Swan’s special afternoon tea offering was themed after A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare and is currently offering a Romeo and Juliet theme. They served the delicious sandwiches and scones and sweets on the stunningly illustrated dishware created by Annika Wester. I got to bask in all the Shakespearean influence while looking out to the Thames and St. Paul’s in the distance. But more than that, I got to enjoy the company of newly found friends.

The Swan Restaurant Afternoon Tea

During this afternoon, I learned that one friend’s love of scones is unmatched, that another friend was kind enough to set up our reservation for people she’d met only a couple weeks before. I learned that I had found some of the most incredible people I will ever meet. It was during afternoon tea that I truly felt like I was home.

There are many other places to enjoy tea in London. With just a quick Google search, you’ll find hundreds of options all throughout the city. On my birthday, I splurged for afternoon tea on the Thames.

Afternoon Tea on the Thames

City Cruises offers many different types of cruise tours, including an afternoon tea one. You can spend a couple hours sightseeing many of the prolific sites London has to offer, including London Tower and Tower Bridge, the London Eye, Big Ben, etc. You do have to sacrifice quality, as the tea and food were not nearly as good as it was at the Swan, but it is definitely a really neat experience.

Afternoon tea at Number Twelve restaurant near King’s Cross is a reasonable price, though you aren’t going to have a glamorous experience like you would on the cruise, or something unique like The Swan. If you happen to be a UK local and eat a lot of Yeoken products, you can save up points and redeem for a Buy One, Get One deal on the afternoon tea. Of course, there are countless options out there that can fit any budget.

Afternoon Tea at Number Twelve Restaurant

After you enjoy your afternoon of freshly brewed tea, be sure to stock up before heading home. Whittard of Chelsea is my personal favorite, and I went through many tins of their special Afternoon Blend when I lived in London. They offer many seasonal teas as well and interesting flavors such as the Blueberry Rooibos, Dark Chocolate, and Whisky. Don’t like tea? Whittard also offers a large selection of coffee and hot chocolates of various flavors.

Whittard in Covent Garden

Harrod’s is another iconic tea shop to visit, especially if you’re near Hyde Park. The Harrod’s Department Store on Brompton Road is filled with amazing shops and is the place to go if you want to do some shopping in London. Twinings is another great place to stop for tea, but of course, you can find tea on every corner in London.

Harrod’s Department Store

If London is on your calendar, I highly recommend saving some time for afternoon tea. Whether your budget is big or small, there is somewhere for you to go and enjoy yummy finger sandwiches, sweet treats, and endless tea.

Afternoon Tea at The Swan Restaurant: £34.50 per person

Afternoon Tea Cruise on the River Thames: £39 per person

Tipsy Tea at Mr. Fogg’s: £48 per person

Afternoon Tea at the Ritz in Mayfair: £62

Afternoon Tea at the Savoy: £65

Leave a comment